Graduate Craft Awards

Craft Awards for Recent Graduates

These awards look to support the development and continued advancement within the field of Contemporary Craft by Scottish based graduates and emerging artists and makers, who have undertaken to study and practice within Scotland. Up to eight awards will be made in 2021. Each award is £2500.

Applicants for the 2021 awards must demonstrate that they have graduated in Scotland within a Craft discipline in 2017, 2018, 2019 or 2020. Applicants should submit a statement of not more than 500 words, explaining how they would use the award to engage in a period of research and development within, and of benefit to, their creative practice. These may include:

  • Innovative investigation of processes and materials
  • Exploration of aspects of developing a sustainable practice
  • Development of work with the potential for commercial application
  • An apprenticeship or mentoring arrangement (a letter of support should be included with the application; apprenticeships or mentoring arrangements)*
  • Further learning in the field of Contemporary Craft (not including formal college or university diploma or degree courses)

They should also include:

  • A full CV
  • Up to 6 images of work that reflects their most recent practice (jpegs no larger than A4 300dpi)
  • Any additional information needed to support the application (e.g. letter of support for apprenticeship or mentoring, itinerary, full estimated budget)

Applications should be submitted digitally via Upload to Dropbox

The closing date for the 2021 applications is Wednesday10th March 2021

*Any application for apprenticeships and mentoring must meet with current UK Government regulations on social distancing and travel for Covid-19. In addition the Trust cannot support applications for travel outside of the UK, but will support applications which may include digital mentorship from a non UK resident.

Share this page: